Vijender Singh’s unbeaten run ends, loses to Artysh Lopsan in ‘Battle on Ship’


The unbeaten run of star Indian boxer Vijender Singh in the skilled circuit ended on Friday night time after he was defeated by his Russian opponent Artysh Lopsan in the ‘Battle on Ship’ right here.

Vijender, a bronze medallist on the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games and who had turned skilled in 2015, entered the bout with a 12-0 document however misplaced.

In the opening spherical, Vijender was cautious in his method because the Russian outplayed the Haryana boxer and used his top to perfection.

The Russian, who was preventing his seventh bout, out-punched Vijender on the rooftop of the ‘Majestic Pride Casino’ ship on the waters of the Mandovi River, which resulted in a heart-break for the partisan crowd.

The referee, after one minute and 9 seconds in the fifth spherical, declared the Russian because the winner because the eight-round sport ended in a knockout.

In the second spherical, the 26-year-old Lopsan gave an exhibition of his class throughout and matched Vijender’s oodles of expertise. He had higher exchanges and made optimum use of his punches — hooks and straight punches — and drained the Haryana boxer.

The Indian continued to face stiff competitors because the 6 toes 4 inches tall Russian managed to squeeze each ounce of his opponent’s power.

Vijender was visibly troubled and likewise appeared drained in the subsequent two rounds as he was constantly punched by the Russian, who was a tad higher on the given day.

In the co-main occasion, seasoned campaigner and pugilist Neeraj Goyat defeated his rival Sandeep Kumar in the welterweight division by a knockout.

In the opposite fights of the night, Chennai’s Sabari J out-punched Amey Kalambe 60-54 in the light-weight class.

Then Haryana’s Kuldeep Dhanda suffered by the hands of Digari Mahesh from Uttarakhand in the tremendous light-weight class.

Karthik Satish Kumar gained towards Jayapal Jaganadhan in the light-weight class.

Dharmendra Grewal was declared because the unanimous winner towards Ashish Ahalawat in the cruiserweight class.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here