Ulsan wins Asian Champions League beating Persepolis 2-1


By: AP | Doha, Qatar |

Updated: December 20, 2020 9:17:31 am

Ulsan Hyundai’s gamers pose with a trophy after the AFC Champions League ultimate match towards Persepolis in Al Wakrah, Qatar, Saturday, Dec. 19, 2020. (AP Photo/Hussein Sayed)

Ulsan Horang-i of South Korea got here from behind to defeat Persepolis of Iran 2-1 and turn out to be the champion of Asia for the second time on Saturday.

Two objectives from Brazilian striker Junior Negrao gave the Tigers the win within the Asian Champions League ultimate in Doha.

Ulsan additionally received in 2012.

The end result left Iran nonetheless looking for a primary continental championship since 1993, Persepolis additionally misplaced within the 2018 ultimate. South Korea has a document 12 titles, 5 greater than Japan.

“We have worked so hard in the past month or so and I want to thank the players,” Ulsan coach Kim Do-hoon stated. “The final was tough against a very good team but we are delighted … to be champion of Asia.”

While Ulsan managed the primary half, a defensive mistake from Park Joo-ho allowed Mehdi Abdi to place Persepolis forward with a low shot within the 45th minute.

Ulsan leveled simply earlier than the break. Yoon Bit-garam, who hit the put up within the ninth minute, was introduced down within the space by Ahmad Nourollahi.

Junior Negrao’s penalty was saved by Persepolis goalkeeper Hamed Lak however the striker, prime scorer within the Okay-League in 2020, scored from the rebound.

Ulsan had a second spot kick eight minutes after the restart following a handball from Mehdi Shiri, and this time the Brazilian made no mistake to attain his seventh objective of the event.

Persepolis pushed ahead however was unable to seek out the equalizer regardless of a penalty declare 5 minutes from time.

The outbreak of coronavirus precipitated the event to be suspended from March to September. Qatar, host of the 2022 World Cup, stepped in to stage all the remaining video games in a bio-secure setting.

Asian Champions League Winners

1967_Hapoel Tel Aviv (Israel)

1969_Maccabi Tel Aviv (Israel)

1970_Taj (Iran)

1971_Maccabi Tel Aviv (Israel)

1986_Daewoo Royals (South Korea)

1986_Furukawa (Japan)

1987_Yomiuri (Japan)

1989_Al Sadd (Qatar)

1990_Liaoning (China)

1991_Esteghlal (Iran)

1991_Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia)

1993_Pas (Iran)

1994_Thai Farmers Bank (Thailand)

1995_Thai Farmers Bank (Thailand)

1995_Ilhwa Chunma (South Korea)

1997_Pohang Steelers (South Korea)

1998_Pohang Steelers (South Korea)

1999_Jubilo Iwata (Japan)

2000_Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia)

2001_Suwon Samsung Bluewings (South Korea)

2002_Suwon Samsung Bluewings (South Korea)

2003_Al Ain (United Arab Emirates)

2004_Al Ittihad (Saudi Arabia)

2005_Al Ittihad (Saudi Arabia)

2006_Jeonbuk Motors (South Korea)

2007_Urawa Red Diamonds (Japan)

2008_Gamba Osaka (Japan)

2009_Pohang Steelers (South Korea)

2010_Ilhwa Chunma (South Korea)

2011_Al Sadd (Qatar)

2012_Ulsan Hyundai (South Korea)

2013_Guangzhou Evergrande (China)

2014_Western Sydney Wanderers (Australia)

2015_Guangzhou Evergrande (China)

2016_Jeonbuk Motors (South Korea)

2017_Urawa Red Diamonds (Japan)

2018_Kashima Antlers (Japan)

2019_Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia)

2020_Ulsan Hyundai (South Korea)

NOTE: No competitors from 1972-84.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click right here to hitch our channel (@indianexpress) and keep up to date with the most recent headlines

For all the most recent Sports News, obtain Indian Express App.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here