T Natarajan roped in, Rohit Sharma named vice-captain in India’s Test squad


Thangarasu Natarajan on Friday changed injured pacer Umesh Yadav in the India Test workforce for the remaining two matches towards Australia, persevering with his exceptional rise in worldwide cricket.

The 29-year-old had began off as a web bowler through the sequence after which subsequently made it to the T20I and ODI squads. He snared eight wickets (two ODI and 6 T20I) throughout his 4 limited-overs appearances in nationwide colors.

Earlier, Shardul Thakur had changed an injured Mohammed Shami in the squad earlier than the second Test.

“Umesh Yadav sustained a strain in his left calf muscle on Day 3 of the second Border-Gavaskar Test in Melbourne. The fast bowler will not recover completely ahead of the remaining two Test matches and has been ruled out of the series,” BCCI Secretary Jay Shah acknowledged in a media launch.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named T Natarajan as Yadav’s replacement. Ahead of the Boxing Day Test, Shardul Thakur was added to the Test squad as Mohd. Shami’s replacement after the senior fast bowler suffered a hairline fracture in his right forearm,” the discharge added.

Both Shami and Umesh Yadav will head to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for additional rehabilitation of their accidents.

Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma has additionally been named vice-captain of the touring squad.

The 33-year-old Mumbaikar, who had missed the limited-overs sequence in addition to the primary two Tests towards Australia as a result of a hamstring harm, rejoined his workforce in Melbourne on Thursday.

“There was never an iota of doubt about who will be India’s vice-captain once Virat takes a break and Ajinkya is elevated. It was always going to be Rohit and Pujara was just a stop-gap arrangement till the former joined the squad,” a senior official aware of the event instructed PTI on circumstances of anonymity.

“Rohit has been India’s long-time white ball vice-captain, so it was only imperative that in Virat’s absence, he will be a part of the team’s leadership group,” the official added.

Rohit has scored 2141 runs in 32 Tests at a median f 46 plus. He has six lots of in his kitty with the perfect of 212 towards South Africa in 2019.

India shall be leaving for Sydney on January 5 for the New Year’s Test which is scheduled to begin on January 7.

India Test squad: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, T Natarajan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here