Stadiums in India named after politicians, officials, musicians … everyone but cricketers


While renouncing his membership with the Delhi and District Cricket Association and asking for the removing of his title from a stand at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, former India captain Bishan Singh Bedi lamented that India doesn’t honour its sportspersons the identical manner as remainder of the world.

Nearly all nice venues in the world honour eminent sportspersons in manner one or one other. In India, although, cricket stadiums are named after everyone besides cricketers and a handful are named after heroes from different sports activities.


9-number of stadiums named after former Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru. Of them, 8 – New Delhi, Chennai, Kochi, Indore, Guwahati, Margao, Pune and Ghaziabad – have hosted home and worldwide cricket matches.

3– variety of arenas named after Indira Gandhi (Guwahati, New Delhi and Vijayawada) and Rajiv Gandhi (Hyderabad, Dehradun and Kochi).

-When India hosted the 2017 under-17 soccer World Cup, 4 out of the six venues used have been named after the Nehru-Gandhi household – the Nehru stadiums in Kochi, Delhi and Margao, together with the Indira Gandhi Stadium in Guwahati, which is without doubt one of the three stadia named after the previous Prime Minister.

-A life-size portrait of Rajiv Gandhi in his cricket gear hangs on the entrance of the stadium named after the previous Prime Minister in Hyderabad.

2-number of grounds named after Atal Bihari Vajpayee (Nadaun and Lucknow) and Sardar Patel (Valsad and Ahmedabad) every.

-The Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in New Delhi was renamed Arun Jaitley Stadium final yr.

-Kozhikode’s EMS Stadium, which has hosted 1987 Nehru Cup and is house to I-League facet Gokulam Kerala, is named after communist chief and first chief minister of Kerala, EMS Namboodiripad.

On October 3, 2010, the 19th Commonwealth Games bought off to a vibrant begin on the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in the National Capital. (Express File)


4– variety of stadiums that get their names from cricket directors; Chennai’s MA Chidambaram, Bengaluru’s Chinnaswamy, Mohali’s IS Bindra and Mumbai’s Wankhede stadiums get their names from the eponymous former presidents of the cricket board.

Other personalities

-There are stadiums which have hyperlinks with the British Raj. The iconic Eden Gardens derives its title from the sisters of the previous Governor-General of India Lord Auckland, Emily and Fanny Eden. Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium, in the meantime, named after the then Bombay Governor, Lord Brabourne.

2– variety of venues named after music maestros: Guwahati’s Dr Bhupen Hazarika Cricket Stadium and Delhi’s multi-purpose Thyagaraj Stadium, which is devoted to Carnatic composer Tyagaraja.

1-number of stadium that will get its title from an government: Jamshedpur’s Keenan Stadium, which is named after the previous normal supervisor of Tata Steel, John Lawrence Keenan.


0-number of cricket stadiums which are named after a cricketer.

-There are, nonetheless, two cricket grounds that honour hockey legends – Lucknow’s KD Singh ‘Babu’ Stadium and Captain Roop Singh Stadium in Gwalior, the venue the place Sachin Tendulkar grew to become the primary cricketer to attain a double century in ODIs.

2-number of hockey stadiums named after Major Dhyan Chand, in New Delhi and Lucknow.

1-number of soccer stadium named after a footballer, the Bhaichung Stadium in Namchi, Sikkim.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here