Nepal: House membership of four ministers annulled


Four Ministers in Nepal Prime Minister Ok P Sharma Oli’s Cabinet have been disqualified as members of Parliament after they defected to the Communist Party of Nepal-Unified Marxist Leninist.

Agni Sapkota, Speaker of the House of Representatives, dominated that the four ministers — Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, Gauri Shankar Choudhary, Prabhu Shah and Lekhraj Bhatta — stood disqualified as House members as a result of they’ve ceased to be members of the Nepal Communist Party (Maoist Centre), which was the social gathering underneath which they contested elections in 2018.

The different Maoist-turned-UML-leader, Home Minister Ram Bahadur Thapa Badal, additionally has his destiny hanging within the steadiness as a letter from the Maoist Centre searching for his disqualification is pending earlier than the Chairman of the Upper House.

These ministers selected to proceed in Oli’s Cabinet even after the Nepal Communist Party, fashioned with the merger of UML and NCP Maoists, break up and returned to being two separate events.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here