Manoj Tiwary among 39-member Bengal probables


Manoj Tiwary, West Bengal’s Minister for State for Affairs of Sports and Youth, has been included among the 39-member Bengal probables for the upcoming cricket season. Tiwary has confirmed his availability to the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) for all three codecs – Ranji Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy (50 overs) and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (T20). The health camp will begin from July 23.

“As far as playing is concerned, I have passion, I enjoy the game and I have a lot to contribute to Bengal cricket. This is the reason why I’m continuing to play cricket. Whatever I’m today is because of my cricket,” Tiwary informed The Indian Express.

Contesting for Trinamool Congress (TMC), Tiwary, 35, received from the Shibpur constituency in Howrah within the final Bengal Assembly elections.

The former Bengal captain, who has 12 ODIs, three T20Is and 125 first-class matches beneath his belt, claimed he has Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s blessings. “I never thought about quitting cricket and I discussed it with our Chief Minister. She told me, ‘No problem, khel na (keep playing)’. This is my profession and passion, which is the reason I didn’t announce my retirement,” he informed this paper.

After the Covid-forced cancellation final time period, the Ranji Trophy will probably be again this season, whereas the Vijay Hazare Trophy and the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy are on the roster as effectively. Putting cricket alongside politics may cramp Tiwary for time. But he has his backup plans prepared. “I have built a core team that will do the job in my absence at my constituency. That team is ready and I can trust them. I will be available on phone and will monitor everything, and I’m very confident that I will be able to shoulder the dual responsibility,” mentioned the senior batsman.

A sitting minister strolling into the dressing-room may give the entire environment a distinct really feel. Tiwary allayed the priority. “When I step into the dressing-room I will make sure that I’m meeting with them (colleagues) as a senior player, as a brother and a team mate.”

The present Union Minister of Sports, Youth Affairs and Minister of Information and Broadcasting Anurag Thakur performed first-class cricket earlier than coming into energetic politics. Kirti Azad, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Laxmi Ratan Shukla and Tejashwi Yadav, too, hung up their cricket boots earlier than becoming a member of politics.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here