Eoin Morgan, Sam Billings to miss 2nd ODI against India


England captain Eoin Morgan will miss the ultimate two One-Day Internationals of the continuing sequence against India in Pune due to damage. And Sam Billings shall be unavailable for sport two of the sequence on Friday, with a choice on his availability for Sunday’s last match to be taken in the end.

Jos Buttler will captain England in Morgan’s absence and Liam Livingstone will make his ODI debut.

Morgan will miss out after sustaining a cut up webbing between his thumb and index finger in Tuesday’s sequence opener, an damage that required 4 stitches.

The captain went by means of a fielding drill throughout coaching on the MCA Stadium on Thursday and afterwards declared himself unfit.

Morgan mentioned: “I had the hand re-dressed earlier than the beginning of coaching immediately however it rapidly turned obvious that I discovered myself defending the damage and entering into the improper positions to catch the ball.

“There’s nowhere to conceal on the sphere in worldwide cricket nowadays, particularly in limited-over codecs so it didn’t require any nice thought to make myself unavailable.

“It was a freak injury and it’s extremely frustrating but there’s nothing I can do about it. It’s now just a case of letting the cut heal. I have every confidence in Jos and the rest of the squad coping without me.”

Billings didn’t practice on Thursday after he suffered a bruised left collar bone whereas fielding in Tuesday’s opening match, and the damage remained sore on Thursday.

Dawid Malan, with the tour occasion as cowl, has been drafted into the squad and is out there for choice.

England will look to degree the sequence and keep alive within the contest after shedding the primary ODI by 66 runs.


India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), KL Rahul (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur.

England: Eoin Morgan (Captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Livingstone, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, Mark Wood. Covers: Jake Ball, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here