Rishabh Pant was denied a boundary as a result of he had been erroneously given out — a choice that was overturned by DRS — off a ball throughout his entertaining 40-ball 77 within the 2nd ODI vs England on Friday.
Pant was given out LBW within the fortieth over after bowler Tom Curran appealed, however he signalled to his bat straightaway and took a Review. Replays confirmed there was a thick edge, after which the ball flew previous Jos Buttler to the boundary rope. Pant’s dismissal was overturned after this, however a questionable clause of the DRS noticed the four runs not being added to India’s rating, leaving Pant visibly unimpressed.
— Aditya Das (@lodulalit001) March 26, 2021
Clause 3.7 of Appendix D of the ICC taking part in circumstances, which offers with DRS, says: “If following a player review request, an original decision of Out is changed to Not out, then the ball is still deemed to have become dead when the original decision was made.”
It states, “The batting side, while benefiting from the reversal of the dismissal, shall not benefit from any runs that may subsequently have accrued from the delivery had the on-field umpire originally.”
FOLLOW LIVE | India vs England 2nd ODI Live
“Something that needs looking into,” was the decision of the commentators on air.
So, Pant misplaced on 4 runs as a result of of a evident umpiring error. Repeating this for 101010364th time—what if this occurred on the ultimate ball of the World Cup ultimate with the batting workforce needing 2 to win??? Socho Socho…. #IndvEng
— Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) March 26, 2021
Just a little later, Pant was once more erroneously given out, and once more he overturned the choice with a Review. He then smashed a 40-ball 77 earlier than being caught within the deep. India completed with 336/6 of their 50 overs.