Azhar part of BCCI committee to solve player compensation problem


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has fashioned a seven-member committee that may discover a appropriate compensation mechanism for home cricketers. The committee covers all six zones within the nation, and consists of former India captain Mohammad Azharuddin and Santosh Menon (South Zone), Rohan Jaitley (North Zone), Avishek Dalmiya (East Zone), Jaydev Shah (West Zone), Yudhvir Singh (Central Zone), and Devajit Saikia (North-Eeast Zone).

BCCI secretary Jay Shah, in his mail to state associations on Saturday said, “This is to apprise you that Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has formed a working group composed of member associations, including former cricketers, for domestic cricket in India.”

The committee will look to discover a method to compensate gamers who had misplaced out financially final season due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The Indian board managed to host solely two home tournaments final yr – Vijay Hazare Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 match. The BCCI had promised gamers that the board will financially help home gamers who misplaced so much of earnings since there have been no tournaments being held.

There has been a suggestion by the BCCI’s high officers to double the match charges for the subsequent season. However, it will likely be left up to this committee to discover out a method to compensate the gamers.

During its final Apex Council assembly, the BCCI had determined to kind a committee to look into the compensation to home cricketers.

“The Apex Council has decided to form a committee to look into the issue of compensation for Indian domestic cricketers for domestic season 2020 and 2021. The Apex Council has mandated the Office Bearers of the BCCI to form the committee and find a suitable compensatory mechanism for domestic cricketers, as early as possible,” Shah had stated in a press launch.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here