Abu Dhabi T10 begins: All you need to know


Abu Dhabi T10 is the world’s solely ten-over cricket event formally sanctioned by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It is the first-ever internationally accepted ten-over format competitors. The second version of Abu Dhabi T10 shall be held from twenty eighth January – sixth February 2021. Matches have a 10-over-a-side format and length of 45 minutes a aspect totalling 90 minutes of play. The event is performed over ten days, with a round-robin adopted by semi-finals and the ultimate.

29 matches in 10 days

Starting on January 28 and working by means of February 6, the Abu Dhabi T10 could have eight world-class groups, that includes a few of the greatest superstars of the game, preventing it out in 29 high-intensity matches at Abu Dhabi’s iconic Zayed Cricket Stadium.

Each match shall be of 20 overs, 10 for every staff, and can attain a conclusion inside one and a half hours, ensuring followers get all the joys, motion, and drama wrapped right into a 90-minute package deal.

To set the ball rolling, eight groups have been divided into two teams of 4, with each staff going through the opposite as soon as within the group stage. The standings after the group stage will decide the fixtures of the Super League stage, which begins on February 1.

After 12 matches within the Super League stage, the competitors will get sharper as we transfer nearer to the enterprise finish of the event. The Playoffs will happen on February 5, adopted by the grand finale on February 6.

With three 10-over matches taking place every day till the ultimate night time, followers can gear up for a excessive dose of continuous, fast-paced cricketing motion on daily basis.

Eight groups, one objective

A complete of eight groups from two teams will battle it out to be topped the champions of The Abu Dhabi T10.

Group A options the defending champions Maratha Arabians and former champions Northern Warriors, together with the younger and energetic Bangla Tigers and the Dwayne Bravo-led Delhi Bulls.

Group B is equally aggressive as final season’s finalists Deccan Gladiators are drawn with Qalandars, led by Shahid Afridi, and the newly shaped Pune Devils, together with Team Abu Dhabi, which options the Universe Boss Chris Gayle.

Defending champions Maratha Arabians, who’ve assembled a completely new squad, will start their title defence towards former champions Northern Warriors from Group A within the event opener, which shall be adopted by Group B’s first match between the Pune Devils and Deccan Gladiators.

Players that may make it depend

Each staff incorporates a mix of seasoned cricketers and younger skills that may take their groups all the way in which to the summit.

Chris Gayle, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard and Mohammad Amir are a few of the large names that may take the sphere for his or her groups. However, the event additionally options a number of thrilling younger skills that demand consideration for his or her impeccable achievements at a younger age corresponding to Afghan wicket keeper-batsman Rahmanullah Gurbaz, who performed an important function in Afghanistan’s latest win over Ireland, and Nepal’s 16-year-old Kushal Malla, who holds the world report for being the youngest to rating a One-Day International half-century.

The event additionally supplies a possibility for native United Arab Emirates cricketers to rub shoulders with a few of the international superstars, which can, in flip, speed up the event of the UAE’s fast-evolving cricket tradition.

For occasion, probably the most skilled cricketers from the UAE, Rohan Mustafa, has been handed the vice-captaincy of Team Abu Dhabi, whereas a 16-year-old Maroof Merchant has been drafted into the Maratha Arabians squad.

The Abu Dhabi T10 is not only an occasion for the large weapons to flex their muscle tissue. It is a platform that focuses on the collective progress of children and native heroes.

Entertainment, assured

Amidst all of the uncertainties of the T10 format and questions of who will make it to the ultimate, we will guarantee you one factor – the leisure quotient goes to be off the roof!

The Abu Dhabi T10 shall be nothing lower than a spectacle when the likes of Chris Gayle, Shahid Afridi, Kieron Pollard, Shoaib Malik and Sunil Narine shall be in motion.

Last season, almost 6,000 runs have been second, some 250 wickets fell and greater than 300 sixes have been smashed! In final yr’s Indian Premier League (IPL), a most was scored off about each twentieth ball. In Abu Dhabi T10, a six rained off each tenth ball. Twice as a lot!

So, if you don’t need to undergo from a severe case of FOMO (worry of lacking out), cancel your plans, seize your popcorn, and prepare for 10 days of mind-blowing leisure.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here